Age Limits and ID Required

According to Florida law, some golf carts may be considered Low-Speed Vehicles (LSVs). LSVs are described as any vehicle with four wheels that canWhite Golf cart parked in a garage travel at speeds over 20 miles per hour but do not exceed 25 miles per hour. They can only be operated on streets where the speed limit is 35 mph or slower.

Florida law mandates that LSVs, Neighborhood Electric Vehicles (NEV), or street legal golf carts be equipped with various safety features such as stop lamps, turn signal lamps, headlamps, taillights, parking brakes, rearview mirrors, reflex reflectors, windshields, wiper blades, seat belts,  license plate and VINs. While insurance is not required for golf carts, LSVs require minimum liability coverage, particularly those with state-assigned VINs indicating they are street legal. Even if you are not required to carry insurance, you should get the necessary coverage to protect you and your passengers in case of an accident. Depending on the vehicle type and your insurance, this might be in the form of a motorcycle endorsement, an add on to your automobile insurance, or an add on to your homeowner s policy.

Unfortunately, these vehicles do not require safety features like doors or airbags and as a result, local hospitals have experienced a significant increase in golf cart injuries, especially among teens and young children. Most of which have been head injuries, but there have also been tragic fatalities. According to the American Academy of Pediatrics, golf cart injuries among children are rising, and more than 6,500 kids are hurt in golf carts every year.

This has led Florida lawmakers to pass a new law HB 949. The law which took effect in October 2023, states that any person operating a golf cart on a public road or street must:

  • If 18 years of age or older, possess a form of government-issued photographic identification.
  • If under 18 years of age, possess a valid learner s driver license or valid driver license.
  • The bill also authorizes water control districts to designate roads owned and maintained by the district for the operation of golf carts, provided the district receives approval from the county where the designated road is located.

Anyone found violating Florida s new golf cart law will receive a noncriminal traffic infraction, punishable pursuant to chapter 318 as a moving violation with a fine of up to $108. It’s imperative for golf cart operators to comply with these regulations to ensure safety on Florida’s roads. Stay safe out there.